Progressing Through Autism

by J

So, it has been a while since I have written, and for that I apologize. It is wedding season, and well, as a wedding photographer, that keeps me rather busy! I did take a bit of time yesterday and strolled through my previous blog posts. In doing so, I realized just how glad I am that I have started this blog. While we still have daily struggles with S, it is easy to forget the great progress he has made. When you are mid-tantrum, or struggling to get your kid to engage on the playground, it is hard to remember what things were like just a few short months ago. Going through the previous posts took me back in time and reminded me just how tough things were before S became verbal. Honestly, it makes today’s struggles seem like a cake walk.

For those of you raising children with autism, I might suggest you keep a blog or diary as well. On the rough days, it is a nice place to revisit and to see just how far you have come. With that in mind, I will make it a point to post more often, no matter how busy life gets. This blog isn’t just about sharing our story with other families, it is about reminding us of our previous struggles and triumphs and reminding us that we have many more to look forward to in the coming years.

 

 

